How Much Does AI Dispatch Software Cost? (2026 Pricing Breakdown)
Reader-supported, no affiliate links (yet): No affiliate links in this article — and we couldn’t verify a public self-serve affiliate program for any of the dispatch vendors below (that doesn’t mean none exists, just that none is public). We have applied to affiliate programs elsewhere (Truckstop via PartnerStack, FreshBooks, QuickBooks, Upper Route Planner), approvals still pending, but nobody paid for a ranking here and nobody could. Every price below was re-verified September 29, 2026 on the vendors’ own official pages — prices change, so confirm on the vendor’s site before buying.
AI dispatch software cost is the question I get asked most, and the sticker price on the pricing page is the smallest number on that page. Two articles ago, I reviewed what the AI in these tools actually does (the full reviews behind these prices). This one answers a single question with numbers: what does this stuff actually cost — the base, the AI add-ons hidden behind “contact sales,” the onboarding fees, the per-seat vs. per-load vs. per-truck structures, and the quote-only trap that keeps small fleets from ever seeing a number.
Here’s my thesis: the base price tells you almost nothing. A “$99/mo” TMS is $597/mo once you add the AI that makes it worth buying. A “$290/mo” flat price is a $3,480 annual commitment. And three of the biggest names in this category won’t show you any number until you’ve sat through their sales cycle. The tables below are built only from list prices I could verify on official vendor pages, every assumption labeled — and where a price is quote-only or unpublished, I wrote “cannot compute” instead of inventing a number. That honesty is the whole point of this article.
The ROI frame: the Bureau of Labor Statistics puts median annual pay for “Dispatchers, Except Police, Fire, and Ambulance” at $46,860/yr (May 2023 OES data). That’s an all-industry benchmark — not trucking-specific, so treat it as a yardstick, not a quote. But it frames the math: the cheapest honest AI stack in this article costs about 5% of that number per year.
Quick picks
- Best value AI stack: Datatruck Basic $99/mo + AI Updater $99/mo = $198/mo ($2,376/yr) — the cheapest honest full-cost AI stack on published pricing, for up-to-6-truck fleets. One mandatory caveat: Datatruck’s own FAQ says the product is built for fleets with more than 10 trucks, so read the Datatruck section before you buy.
- Crossover pick: Truckbase $290/mo (billed annually — a $3,480/yr commitment) with free onboarding and no add-ons. At 7 trucks, Datatruck forces you into Pro + Updater ($398/mo), and Truckbase’s flat $290 becomes the cheaper honest option.
- Budget floor: TruckLogics Owner-Operator $39.95/mo — the cheapest published full TMS in the category. Just don’t call it AI dispatch; the “AI” is a dashboard label.
1. TruckLogics — the 1-truck floor
Best for: A one-truck owner-operator who wants a real TMS at the lowest published price in the category. Price: Owner-Operator $39.95/mo monthly; $35.96/mo billed yearly ($431.52/yr — saves $47.88/yr). Free 7-day trial, no credit card required. (Verified on trucklogics.com/pricing, Sept 2026.)
TruckLogics is truck management, dispatching, accounting, invoicing, IFTA reporting, and document management — the full TMS job at the lowest list price anyone publishes. The Owner-Operator plan is the 1-truck band; the Leased Operator plan is identical pricing. That makes the cost table brutally simple: $39.95, and only at one truck.
The AI (thin): the AI is billed as an “AI Dashboard & Daily Business Insights” with no functional description on the official pages. It’s a management tool with a label, not a dispatch-AI tool. Don’t buy it for AI; buy it for price.
Hidden costs found: almost none published. No setup or onboarding fee is mentioned anywhere on the pricing page. The one priced add-on: IFTA add-on reports at $24.95/report (business owners) / $19.95/report (service providers). Refund terms are explicit: no refunds, monthly subscription, cancel anytime; the first month is prorated, and billing runs on the 5th.
Cost-table math: only the 1-truck band is computable. Multi-truck pricing was not readable on the official pricing page — so I will not write “$39.95 × 5 = $199.75.” That multiplication would be invented pricing, and it’s exactly the trick this article refuses to do.
Verdict: the cheapest way into real TMS software, full stop. Just don’t mistake it for AI dispatch.
2. SmartHop — the booking-intelligence ladder
Best for: An owner-operator or small fleet that wants AI on load booking — not a TMS. Price: Starter $45/mo · Basic $125/mo · Growth $250/mo (most popular) · Premium $1,000/mo — ALL billed quarterly. That means Starter is a $135 quarterly charge, Basic $375, Growth $750, Premium $3,000. (Verified on smarthop.com/pricing, Sept 2026.)
Read the billing carefully, because this is one of the article’s headline traps: the page shows monthly-styled numbers, but every tier is billed quarterly. There is a monthly-billed toggle on the page, but its rates weren’t visible — so I quote quarterly billing only. SmartHop is not a TMS; it’s a booking-intelligence layer. Starter is booking only (“for owner operators looking to book loads”); management features start at Basic ($125). The AI reads DAT load data — and the load board itself is a separate subscription (the load board bill underneath), which I don’t fold into SmartHop’s cost because it’s a different bill.
Hidden costs found: no setup or onboarding fee found on the official pricing page. The quarterly billing commitment is the term to name: you commit $135–$3,000 per quarter up front, not month-to-month.
Stale-price warning: SmartHop’s original model (circa 2020, per third-party reporting) charged a 3% commission per accepted load with no upfront fee. That was the old dispatcher-service model — not the current SaaS tiers. If you see the 3% figure in old articles, it’s stale; the 2026 prices are the tiers above.
Cost-table math: flat per plan at every band — $45 at 1 truck, $125 at 5, $250 at 10, $250 at 20 (Premium $1,000 exists for “dedicated dispatching and lane management services,” and Growth may not be the natural 20-truck tier — flagged in the table).
Verdict: honest ladder pricing, but the quarterly billing hides behind monthly-styled numbers. Book it if your job is booking; pair it with a TMS if your job is operations.

3. Datatruck — the tier-jump math (the worked example)
Best for: Up-to-6-truck fleets that want the cheapest honest AI dispatch stack on published pricing. Price: Basic $99/mo (up to 6 trucks, up to 5 users) · Pro $299/mo (up to 19 trucks, up to 10 users) · Big Fleet $499/mo (up to 30 trucks, unlimited users) · Enterprise custom. 14-day free trials. (Verified on datatruck.io/pricing, Sept 2026.)
This is the section that justifies the article. Datatruck publishes everything — base prices, user caps, and every AI add-on with a number. Which means I can do the addition vendors hope you won’t do:
- The AI add-ons: TruckGPT Auto-Entry for Loads is included in plans. AI Updater (“AI updates loads, removes check-calls”) is $99/mo. AI Dispatcher (“AI books freight”) is $399/mo. Fintruck self-serve analytics is $99/mo. EDI is $499/connection (up to 5k transactions per connection).
- The add-on creep: at 5 trucks, base-only is $99/mo. Base + AI Updater — the value stack — is $198/mo. The full stack (base + Dispatcher + Updater) is $597/mo. The “$99/mo” AI tool triples to $597 when you add the actual AI. At 10 trucks: base $299, + Updater = $398, full stack = $797. At 20 trucks (Pro caps at 19, so Big Fleet): base $499, + Updater = $598, full stack = $997.
Hidden costs found: EDI $499/connection, Fintruck $99/mo, the AI add-ons above. Not found: the implementation fee and any minimum contract term. The pricing page offers an implementation team and data migration that sound free, but no fee and no contract length are stated — so I claim neither. Don’t let “implementation team” lull you into assuming free.
The mandatory caveat: Datatruck’s own FAQ says the product is “specifically built for fleet owners with more than 10 trucks” — while the Basic tier tops out at 6 trucks. The maker’s own positioning points small fleets at Pro. I recommend Basic + Updater anyway on pure cost, but you deserve to know the vendor itself thinks you’re under its target size.
Cost-table math: 1 truck: $99 flat. 5 trucks: $99 flat ($198 with Updater — the pick). 10 trucks: $299 flat ($398 with Updater). 20 trucks: $499 flat ($598 with Updater).
Verdict: the most transparent pricing in the category, which is why it wins this article. The value stack is $198/mo; the full-AI number is $597/mo. Know which one you’re buying.
4. Truckbase — the flat floor with an annual commitment
Best for: Fleets at 7+ trucks where Datatruck’s tier jump makes this the cheaper honest option. Price: “New minimum price is $290/month (billed annually).” (Verified on truckbase.com/pricing, Sept 2026.)
Do the multiplication the pricing page doesn’t: $290/mo billed annually is a $3,480/yr committed contract, not a $290 decision. That number is computed, not vendor-quoted — and it’s the number that should go in your budget. The billing options are published: per truck, per driver, per load, flat annual rates, or custom. But the per-truck, per-driver, and per-load dollar rates are not published — so every band above the $290 floor is a number only a quote can produce. In the tables below, $290 is the published floor at 1, 5, 10, and 20 trucks, labeled as floor-only.
Hidden costs found to be $0: “Free, live virtual onboarding & implementation” and “No hidden fees, no surprise bills” — both on the official pricing page. That’s the trust content: the one vendor in this roundup that says no hidden fees on the page where you could find them. One genuine unknown: in-person on-site training for larger fleets is “available” with no price stated.
Cost-table math: $290/mo floor at every band. Never scale the minimum by truck count — $290 × 5 trucks would be invented pricing.
Verdict: the cheapest option the moment you outgrow Datatruck Basic — flat, honest, and annual.
5. Rose Rocket — the enterprise ceiling
Best for: Nobody in a cost article’s core audience — it’s here as the ceiling. Price: Full Service Platform starting at $2,080/mo; Enterprise custom. (Verified on roserocket.com/pricing, Sept 2026.)
$2,080/mo includes unlimited users (“no per-seat fees”), all the AI agents, white-glove implementation, and a 90-day go-live — no separate implementation fee stated. That is 53% of the BLS dispatcher wage benchmark per year ($24,960/yr) — at which point you should ask whether the software is cheaper than the dispatcher. For most small fleets, it is not.
Cost-table math: $2,080 flat at 5, 10, and 20 trucks. At 1 truck: not sold for this band — there’s no 1-truck product, and the 90-day implementation tells you this was never built for an owner-operator.
Verdict: the ceiling, not a recommendation. If you’re shopping here, you’re not a small fleet anymore.
Total monthly cost — the honest tables
List prices only. Annualized figures are computed (price × 12), not vendor claims. Every assumption is labeled. “Cannot compute” means the vendor doesn’t publish the number — I won’t invent it.
1 truck
| Platform | Monthly | Annualized | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| TruckLogics | $39.95 | $479.40 | Cheapest published full TMS; the “AI” is a dashboard label |
| SmartHop Starter | $45 | $540 | Billed quarterly ($135/quarter); booking intelligence only, not a TMS |
| Datatruck Basic | $99 | $1,188 | TruckGPT auto-entry included; vendor aims at 10+ trucks |
| Truckbase | $290 | $3,480 committed | Minimum price, billed annually; per-truck rate not published |
| Rose Rocket | — | — | Not sold for this band; $2,080/mo enterprise platform, no 1-truck product |
| Alvys / McLeod / Vooma | Cannot compute | — | Quote-only |
5 trucks
| Platform | Monthly | Annualized | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Datatruck Basic | $99 | $1,188 | + AI Updater $99 = $198/mo ($2,376/yr) — the value-pick stack |
| SmartHop Basic | $125 | $1,500 | Billed quarterly ($375/quarter); management features start here |
| Datatruck full AI stack | $597 | $7,164 | $99 base + $399 AI Dispatcher + $99 AI Updater — the add-on creep |
| Truckbase | $290 | $3,480 committed | Floor only; per-truck rate above it requires a quote |
| Rose Rocket | $2,080 | $24,960 | Published — but enterprise-positioned, not built for 5 trucks |
| TruckLogics | Cannot compute | — | Multi-truck pricing not published; do NOT multiply $39.95 |
| Alvys / McLeod / Vooma | Cannot compute | — | Quote-only |
10 trucks
| Platform | Monthly | Annualized | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SmartHop Growth | $250 | $3,000 | Billed quarterly ($750/quarter); most popular tier |
| Truckbase | $290 | $3,480 committed | Floor only; actual per-truck rate requires a quote |
| Datatruck Pro | $299 | $3,588 | Up to 19 trucks; + Updater $99 = $398/mo; full stack = $797/mo |
| Rose Rocket | $2,080 | $24,960 | — |
| Alvys / McLeod / Vooma | Cannot compute | — | Quote-only |
20 trucks
| Platform | Monthly | Annualized | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SmartHop Growth | $250 | $3,000 | Premium $1,000/mo exists for “dedicated dispatching” — Growth may not be the natural 20-truck tier |
| Truckbase | $290 | $3,480 committed | Floor only; actual per-truck rate requires a quote |
| Datatruck Big Fleet | $499 | $5,988 | Up to 30 trucks (Pro caps at 19); + Updater $99 = $598/mo; full stack = $997/mo |
| Rose Rocket | $2,080 | $24,960 | This is its natural band |
| Alvys / McLeod / Vooma | Cannot compute | — | Quote-only |
Two patterns fall out of the tables. First, the spread is absurd: a 5-truck fleet can pay anywhere from $125 to $2,080 a month, and the answer depends entirely on which AI and which structure you buy — not on the sticker. Second, the Datatruck crossover is mechanical: at 6 trucks, Basic + Updater = $198/mo. At 7, Basic no longer applies, Pro + Updater = $398/mo — and Truckbase’s flat $290 floor (annual, free onboarding, no add-ons) becomes cheaper. That’s not an opinion; it’s arithmetic on published prices.

The quote-only hall of shame
Four entries. These are the vendors whose pricing you cannot see without a sales conversation — and why that costs you money.
Alvys — the sympathetic case. Everything is “quoted based on volume of loads”: per-load pricing, free implementation, no per-seat fees, month-to-month, cancel anytime, 14-day Foundations trial. Those are the fairest terms on the entire list — attached to the least transparent number. The per-load dollar rate is not published anywhere on the official site. Best terms, invisible price. Cost-table math: cannot compute at any band.
McLeod. Quote-only — no published pricing anywhere on mcleodsoftware.com (checked Sept 2026). Its AI roadmap is announced (RespondAI is listed on its Resource Center), but the ship status of the McLeod Assistant is unconfirmed. You can’t buy what you can’t price, and you can’t price what they won’t publish.
Vooma. Quote-only — no published pricing on vooma.ai (checked Sept 2026). Six AI agents, positioned as a layer over existing TMS tools, big mid-market logos — and not one number. Same verdict.
Rose Rocket Enterprise. Custom pricing behind the published $2,080 platform tier. Even the vendor with public pricing hides its top tier behind “custom.”
Why quote-only pricing costs small fleets real money:
- You can’t comparison-shop. I lined up TruckLogics ($39.95), SmartHop ($45–$125), Datatruck ($99–$597), Truckbase ($290), and Rose Rocket ($2,080) in one sitting. Alvys, McLeod, and Vooma require a sales conversation before the first number exists.
- The sales-cycle tax. Every quote-only vendor costs 1–3 sales calls plus a demo before pricing appears. For a one-person operation, that is the owner’s own dispatching hours spent instead of dispatching.
- “Custom” at small-fleet scale usually means priced for bigger fish. I won’t invent a number for any of them — but the pattern is visible in who they sell to: McLeod’s 1,200+ installed companies, Vooma’s mid-market logos. When pricing is hidden, it’s hidden because it isn’t for you.

Hidden costs: found, free, and not found
This section is the article’s honesty backbone. “Not found” is a finding — I’d rather tell you I couldn’t find a fee than let you assume there isn’t one.
FOUND (the number, stated):
- Datatruck: AI Dispatcher $399/mo · AI Updater $99/mo · Fintruck analytics $99/mo · EDI $499/connection.
- Alvys: developer add-on $100/mo line item (which plan it attaches to is ambiguous on the official page — I won’t guess).
- TruckLogics: IFTA add-on reports $24.95/report (business owners) / $19.95/report (service providers).
- Truckbase: the $3,480/yr annual commitment hiding behind “$290/mo” (computed from the billed-annually minimum).
- SmartHop: the quarterly billing commitment — $135 to $3,000 charged at once, every quarter.
FOUND TO BE $0 (trust content — a vendor that publishes “free” gets credit):
- Truckbase: free live virtual onboarding & implementation; “no hidden fees, no surprise bills.”
- Alvys: onboarding and implementation included at no extra cost; no per-seat fees; month-to-month, cancel anytime.
- Rose Rocket: no per-seat fees; white-glove implementation included in the $2,080 platform price.
NOT FOUND (absence findings — stated, not assumed away):
- Datatruck: implementation fee and minimum contract term — not stated anywhere. I claim neither “free” nor any length.
- SmartHop: setup/onboarding fee — not found on official pages. The monthly-billed toggle exists, but its rates weren’t visible.
- Truckbase: per-truck/per-driver/per-load unit rates — not published. In-person on-site training price for larger fleets — not stated.
- TruckLogics: setup/onboarding fee — not mentioned; and no refunds (monthly, cancel anytime).
- Alvys: the per-load dollar rate — unpublished (the article’s central “cannot compute”). McLeod: any price — unpublished. Vooma: any price — unpublished.
How to pick
- Annualize every monthly number before you budget. $290/mo is $3,480/yr committed. $99/mo is $1,188/yr. The monthly figure is marketing; the annual figure is your budget line. (And your dispatch costs land in your books — make sure the accounting category exists before the invoice does.)
- Price the AI, not the base. Datatruck Basic is $99/mo; the AI stack that makes it worth buying is $198–$597/mo. Ask every vendor: which AI costs extra, and what does the full AI stack total? The “$99/mo AI” that becomes $597/mo with the actual AI is this category’s signature move.
- Match billing structure to your cash flow. SmartHop bills quarterly ($375 up front for Basic). Truckbase bills annually ($3,480 committed). Alvys bills per load with no seat fees — the friendliest structure on the list, if you can get the number. A 5-truck fleet with tight cash flow should weight structure as heavily as price.
- Treat “contact sales” as a cost, not a tier. Alvys, McLeod, and Vooma cost you 1–3 calls and a demo before the first number. If a vendor won’t publish a price, assume the price wasn’t built for a small fleet and move on — unless you have a specific reason to believe otherwise.
- Respect the tier jumps. Datatruck’s 6-truck Basic cap is a cliff: $198/mo at 6 trucks becomes $398/mo at 7. Truckbase’s $290 doesn’t care about your truck count (at the floor, at least). Map the jump points before you grow into them.
- Price means nothing without the right size. A $39.95 tool that can’t scale past one truck and a $2,080 platform that needs a 90-day implementation are both wrong answers at 5 trucks. Our fleet-size guide tells you which of these platforms actually fits your truck count.
- Remember the bills outside this article. Dispatch software doesn’t include your load board (the load board bill underneath) or your routing (routing is a separate bill — dispatch assigns the work, route optimization sequences the stops). Budget all three.
FAQ
What’s the cheapest AI dispatch software, honestly? The cheapest TMS is TruckLogics at $39.95/mo, but its AI is a dashboard label. The cheapest honest AI dispatch stack is Datatruck Basic ($99) + AI Updater ($99) = $198/mo for up-to-6-truck fleets. Below that price, you’re buying management software, not AI.
How does software cost compare to hiring a dispatcher? The BLS median for “Dispatchers, Except Police, Fire, and Ambulance” is $46,860/yr — that’s an all-industry benchmark, not trucking-specific, so treat it as a yardstick. Against it: Datatruck’s $2,376/yr stack is about 5% of that wage. Truckbase at $3,480/yr is about 7%. Datatruck’s full AI stack at 5 trucks ($7,164/yr) is about 15%. Rose Rocket at $24,960/yr is 53% — close enough to a salary that you should be asking hard questions about what the software replaces.
Why does this article pick Datatruck when your other articles picked Truckbase? Different angle, same facts. The dispatch review (the full reviews behind these prices) ranked on AI capability, and the fleet-size guide ranked on fleet-size fit — Truckbase won both. This article ranks on pure total cost, and under 6 trucks Datatruck’s published $198 stack is simply cheaper. At 7 trucks the math flips and Truckbase’s $290 flat wins — the articles agree, they just answer different questions.
What’s the catch with quote-only pricing? You can’t comparison-shop, you pay the sales-cycle tax (1–3 calls plus a demo before a number exists), and “custom” pricing at small-fleet scale is usually priced for bigger fish. Alvys is the one sympathetic case: the fairest terms in the category with the least transparent number.
Do any of these include a load board subscription? No. SmartHop’s AI reads DAT data, but the board is a separate bill with its own article (DAT vs Truckstop). Don’t let a dispatch demo blur the two — they’re two subscriptions.
Why didn’t you rank Axon, Tai, Tailwind, or ITS Dispatch? Axon’s “Document AI” couldn’t be verified on its own site. Tai is broker-focused with unverified pricing. Tailwind has no named AI on official pages (and sits in enterprise lineage now). ITS Dispatch has no official pricing and conflicting third-party figures. Same exclusions as our other dispatch articles — wrong category or unverifiable claims, either way not ranked.
Bottom line
Buy Datatruck Basic ($99/mo) + AI Updater ($99/mo) = $198/mo ($2,376/yr) if you run up to 6 trucks — the cheapest honest full-cost AI stack on published pricing, with the mandatory caveat that Datatruck’s own FAQ says the product is built for fleets with more than 10 trucks. The moment you hit 7 trucks, Basic no longer applies, Pro + Updater becomes $398/mo, and Truckbase’s flat $290/mo ($3,480/yr committed, free onboarding, no add-ons) becomes the cheaper honest option. Don’t buy any of them for the sticker price — buy them for the total, and confirm every number on the vendor’s page before you sign.
